Have a healthy and delicious summer! Plus strawberry and banana smoothie

20130713-122831.jpg
When it comes to summer, I eat less( I think this is due to the temperature, being more active so having less time to procrastinate[eat], the weather being nicer so being happier and less inclined to turn to food for comfort….) and also preferring lighter, fresher and healthier foods. I love this about summer, I feel more in shape from getting out and enjoying the great outdoors and eating less of the heavy or greasy foods although I do generally try to eat well.

I have been trying to ‘eat clean’ for the past few weeks. For me, I am not health expert so what this means for me is trying to eat less processed foods and sticking with simpler foods with ingredients and production process I understand, and of course plenty of fruit and veg. I have also been sipping various teas throughout the day to keep my hydration up and sweet cravings at bay. I drink green tea with jasmine, peppermint tea, mango and strawberry tea, mango and lychee tea, blood orange and cranberry tea and many other fruit teas daily. Twinings mango and lychee tea has been a firm daily favourite of mine. It smells delicious and I was surprised that it actually does smell like lychee and has a very subtle taste, so like drinking water plus. I don’t like it when teas are too sickly so this is perfect for me. I have also been cooling the fruit teas for delicious ice tea! a lot healthier than drinking fruit juices or cordials as the teas are all natural ingredients and have no added sugar! I drink a lot of peppermint tea as I am lead to believe that this helps with digestion? I had some bloating recently, I am not sure what it was being caused by. Some suggest, too much fruit and veg, some say wheat, some say porridge…… I don’t know. Anyway what I’ve found has helped is eating snacks throughout the day so that I am never feeling hungry, rather than having 3 larger meals, drinking small cups of tea and I have also been using Optibac Probiotics-For a flat stomach( previously ‘anti bloat’) for a week (one sachet a day) which I think might have helped too. No bloating this week at all. It is recommended that this is used for a week a month, but could be used daily if necessary. It normally costs and £7-8 for a weeks worth which is not cheap, however I did manage to get it on amazon for £5 ish. I will be sticking to one week a month I think.

When I am home from university, I feel very tempted by all the delicious foods my mum makes. I think it’s fine to eat some of everything, as long as I resist and don’t eat more than I need to. One thing that I do appreciate about living and feeding myself when I’m at uni is that I can control exactly what I want and should eat and can plan around my days activity.

Anyway, super quick recipe today; I have been enjoying whizzing smoothies up in the blender. I posted a no blender smoothie recipe below whilst I was still at uni, but back home I have a handheld blender. 3 ingredients:
-5 strawberries
-1 banana
-some milk to taste/ consistency

Simply whizz up and enjoy, serve with a strawberry on the side and a straw if you want to be fancy about it! A quick, easy, and healthy snack/ dessert/refreshment, et voila.

20130713-125046.jpg

20130713-125110.jpg
Twinings mango and lychee tea, cooled and served with ice.

Enjoy your summer! X

Leave a Reply

